Today we can announce that Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) and University College London (UCL) will join the Ellen MacArthur Foundation’s group of Pioneer Universities.

We are thrilled to welcome these two institutions to this exclusive group alongside existing Pioneer Universities the University of Bradford, Cranfield University and Kedge Business School. Between 2013 and 2016, the Foundation will work with a maximum of 10 Pioneer Universities globally and institutions will be chosen according to their commitment to deliver truly pioneering research and / or teaching programmes on the circular economy. Pioneer Universities will also be granted access to our Circular Economy 100 network, events and resources in order to help drive knowledge exchange between businesses and higher education. Find out more about the Pioneer University programme here.

tu_ce1David Peck, Manager Large Projects at TU Delft and Managing Director of the Leiden-Delft-Erasmus Centre for Sustainability:

“Together with our industrial partners we are ready and eager to develop new knowledge, both from an academic and industrial viewpoint, next to educating engineers and scientists that can support novel businesses and technologies related to a resilient circular economy.

Our work developing and delivering innovative online programmes on the circular economy will complement the work being undertaken by other Pioneer Universities, helping to build a broader understanding of how different multi-disciplinary teaching and learning frameworks can most effectively accelerate the transition to a circular economy”.