from the 98 entries submitted in the inaugural 2006 Awards. The number of banks applying was up by more than 100 percent, with entries from 104 institutions, compared with last year’s 48 banks from 28 countries.

The FT and IFC, the private sector arm of the World Bank Group, created the awards to recognize banks that have shown leadership and innovation in integrating social and environmental objectives into their operations.

Winners will be honored in five categories: Sustainable Bank of the Year, Emerging Markets Sustainable Bank of the Year, Sustainable Bankers of the Year, Sustainable Deal of the Year, and Achievement in Carbon Finance. Each category will have a shortlist of five finalists. For the first time, there will also be additional awards for regional leadership under the Emerging Markets category.

The FT Sustainable Banking Awards will be presented at a special dinner at the Landmark in London on June 7. A major conference on sustainable banking, addressing the views of banks, their stakeholders, and civil society, is to take place earlier in the day.

“The rise in 2007 award entries and the increased geographical diversity of participants is a testament to the growing global recognition of sustainable banking. We are delighted to be working with IFC to highlight this area to the FT’s audiences around the world,” said Lionel Barber, Editor of the Financial Times.

“It is good to see entries coming from banks in the emerging markets in particular,” said Lars Thunell, head of IFC. “Banks around the world are using sustainable finance to create value for their customers, shareholders, employees, and the broader community.”

The judging panel will meet this month to narrow down the shortlists of award nominees. The panel includes leading figures involved in sustainable finance and development:

John Willman, U.K. Business Editor, Financial Times (panel co-chair)

Lars Thunell, Executive Vice President, IFC (panel co-chair)

Paul Clements-Hunt, Head of Unit, United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiative (UNEP FI)

Sergio Rosa, Chief Executive Officer, PREVI

Paul Grimes, Chief Operating Officer, FTSE Group

Tessa Tennant, Co-founder, Association for Sustainable and Responsible Investment in Asia

The list of participating institutions for the 2007 FT Sustainable Banking Awards is in the attached Appendix. More information is also available at

For further information on the awards programme and the conference, please contact:

Azmar Sukandar, Financial Times, Hong Kong, +852 2905 5519

Lucie Giraud, IFC, Washington, DC, +1 (202) 458-4662


Entries to the 2007 FT Sustainable Banking Awards were received from the following Dutch institutions:

ABN AMRO, Netherlands
ASN Bank, Netherlands
Fortis, Netherlands
ING, Netherlands
Netherlands Development Finance Company (FMO)
Rabobank, Netherlands
RePay International, Netherlands
Robeco, Netherlands